Collected Stories - Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Collected Stories - Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Regular price Rs. 399.00 Rs. 0.00   Unit price per

*Goodreads rating 4.2*

Author: Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Format: Paperback

Product Description

Collected Stories brings together many of Gabriel Garcia Marquez's spellbinding short stories, each brimming with a blend of the surreal, the magical, and the everyday that Nobel-Prize-winner and author of One Hundred Years of Solitude Marquez is known for.

Sweeping through crumbling towns, travelling fairs and windswept ports, Gabriel Garcia Marquez introduces a host of extraordinary characters and communities in his mesmerizing tales of everyday life: smugglers, bagpipers, the President and Pope at the funeral of Macondo's revered matriarch; a every old angel with enormous wings, stranded in a young couple's back garden; a town plagued by dying birds that fall from the sky and an awestruck village captivated by a beautiful drowned sailor. Teeming with the magical oddities for which his novels are loved, Marquez's stories are a delight.

'These stories abound with love affairs, ruined beauty, and magical women. It is essence of Marquez' 

'Of all the living authors known to me, only one is undoubtedly touched by genius: Gabriel Garcia Marquez' Sunday Telegraph

'It becomes more and more fun to read. It shows what "fabulous" really means' Time Out

About Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Gabriel José de la Concordia García Márquez was a Colombian writer of novels, short-stories, screenplays and journalistic columns. He is best remembered for: One Hundred Years of Solitude, The Autumn of the Patriarch and Love in the Time of Cholera. Marquez won much acclaim for his contribution to Colombian literature, including the 1972 Neustadt International Prize for Literature and the 1982 Nobel Prize in Literature. His works were often based around a fictional village called Macondo and often delve into the themes of solitude and magic realism.